# **Ellen Hines Smith Award Nomination Form**

The Ellen Hines Smith Legal Services Lawyer of the Year Award is named in memory of Ellen Hines Smith of Spartanburg. Ellen was the founding director of Piedmont Legal Services. She served as a member of Spartanburg City Council and a municipal court judge. Her entire legal career was devoted to the creation and provision of legal services to the citizens of South Carolina. Her commitment and leadership were recognized both in South Carolina and across the nation. The award is presented to recognize a lawyer who has demonstrated commitment to the development and delivery of quality legal services to the poor in South Carolina through the legal services program.

Award criteria:

- Must be a South Carolina Legal Services' attorney;
- Application by April 10, 2017;
- Sent to <u>rwheeler@scbar.org</u> or SCATJ Commission, PO Box 608, Columbia, SC 29202-0608;
- Decided by a joint awards committee of the SC Bar Foundation and SC ATJ Commission;
- Provides reasons for nominee to receive award;
- Presented at the SC Bar May House of Delegates' Meeting;
- Not necessarily awarded every year.

### AWARD GUIDELINES DEADLINE: April 10, 2017

The Ellen Hines Smith Award was established in 1989. It is given to a South Carolina Bar member who is employed as an LSC grantee program lawyer who has demonstrated long-term commitment to legal services and who has personally done significant work in extending legal services to the poor.

### **ELIGIBITY AND CRITERIA**

General criteria to be used in the selection of the award recipient include one or more of the following:

- Demonstrated dedication to the development and delivery of legal services to the poor through a Legal Services program;
- Quality and creativity in the delivery of legal services to the poor;

- Successful litigation that has benefited significant numbers of indigents or favorably affected the provision of other services to indigents or other innovative actions;
- Commitment to the goals of Legal Services;
- Other public service for the community or the Bar.

## NOMINATION PROCESS

The nomination process is as follows:

- A completed nomination form submitted for each nominee
- In addition to the nomination form, each nomination must include:
- at least one (1) but no more than five (5) letters in support of the nomination that include citations to reported cases and reference to organizing efforts, successful projects and newspaper or other articles
- a current résumé or biography that includes work history with dates

If submitting a hard copy nomination: Submit the completed nomination form and supporting materials no later than **April 10, 2017** to SCATJ Commission, PO Box 608, Columbia, SC 29202-0608.

If submitting by e-mail, the entire nomination including the nomination form and all supporting materials must be submitted electronically in one e-mail communication to <u>rwheeler@scbar.org</u> by **April 10, 2017**.

# SELECTION PROCESS AND AWARD PRESENTATION

The Award winner will be decided by a joint awards committee of the <u>South Carolina Bar</u> <u>Foundation</u> and the <u>South Carolina Access to Justice Commission</u> after reviewing the nominations.

Decisions regarding the award recipient will be based on the above criteria or comparable achievements and the strength of the supporting letters.

The award will be presented during the House of Delegates' meeting in May 2017. Previous award recipients are not eligible.

Previous Award Recipients	
1989 – Martha B. Dicus	2002 – Eddie McDonnell
1990 – Thomas L. Bruce	2003 – Frank Cannon
1991 – Johnny Simpson	2004 – Willie B. Heyward
1992 – Harold F. Daniels	2005 – Lynn Snowber-Marini
1993 – Andrea E. Loney	2007 - Marcia Powell-Shew
1994 – Mozella Nicholson	2009 – Maureen White
1995 – Thomas A. Trent	2010 – Susan J. Firimonte
1996 – Susan A. Cross	2011 – Jack E. Cohoon
1997 – Angela M. Myers	2012 – Kirby Mitchell
1998 – Ethel E. Weinberg	2013 – Kimberly Shelton
1999 – Nancy M. Butler	2014 – Kimaka Nichols-Grah
2000 – Byron A. Reid	2015 – Susan P. Ingles
2001 – Lynn P. Wagner	

#### NOMINATION FORM DEADLINE:

The completed nomination form with supporting materials must be postmarked by or received by email to <u>rwheeler@scbar.org</u> by midnight, **April 10, 2017.** 

Name of Nominee:						
Nominee's Address:						
 City:		State:	Zip Code:			
Phone:	Email:		-			

Please answer the following questions on separate sheets and attach the sheets and the required supporting materials to the nomination form (incomplete nomination packages will be returned for required information):

1. Describe the accomplishments of the nominee towards development and delivery of legal services to the poor

2. Describe any litigation that benefited the poor

3. Explain the nominee's demonstrated long-term commitment to legal services

4. Attach a current résumé or biography with work history and educational background

5. Include at least one letter (but no more than five) in support of the nomination

Name of Nominator:

Phone: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Email: \_\_\_\_\_

Hard copy postmarked by **April 10, 2017:** SC Access to Justice Commission PO Box 608 Columbia, SC 29202-0608 Email by **April 10, 2017** to: rwheeler@scbar.org

Questions? Call Robin F. Wheeler (803) 576-3808