Ellen Hines Smith Award Nomination Form

The Ellen Hines Smith Legal Services Lawyer of the Year Award is named in memory of Ellen Hines Smith of Spartanburg. Ellen was the founding director of Piedmont Legal Services. She served as a member of Spartanburg City Council and a municipal court judge. Her entire legal career was devoted to the creation and provision of legal services to the citizens of South Carolina. Her commitment and leadership were recognized both in South Carolina and across the nation. The award is presented to recognize a lawyer who has demonstrated commitment to the development and delivery of quality legal services to the poor in South Carolina through the legal services program.

Award criteria:

- A SC Bar member who is employed as an LSC grantee program lawyer;
- Application made by November 12, 2014;
- Sent to <u>rwheeler@scbar.org</u> or SC ATJ Commission, PO Box 608, Columbia, SC 29202-0608;
- Award winner decided by a joint awards committee of the SC Bar Foundation and SC ATJ Commission;
- Provides reasons for nominee to receive award;
- Award jointly presented at SC Bar Foundation Gala;
- Award not necessarily granted every year.

AWARD GUIDELINES DEADLINE:

The Ellen Hines Smith Award was established in 1989. It is given to a South Carolina Bar member who is employed as an LSC grantee program lawyer who has demonstrated long-term commitment to legal services and who has personally done significant work in extending legal services to the poor.

November 12, 2014

ELIGIBITY AND CRITERIA

General criteria to be used in the selection of the award recipient include one or more of the following:

- Demonstrated dedication to the development and delivery of legal services to the poor through a Legal Services program;
- Quality and creativity in the delivery of legal services to the poor;
- Successful litigation that has benefited significant numbers of indigents or favorably affected the provision of other services to indigents or other innovative actions;
- Commitment to the goals of Legal Services;

• Other public service for the community or the Bar.

NOMINATION PROCESS

The nomination process is as follows:

- A completed nomination form submitted for each nominee
- In addition to the nomination form, each nomination must include:
 - at least one (1) but no more than five (5) letters in support of the nomination that include citations to reported cases and reference to organizing efforts, successful projects and newspaper or other articles
 - a current résumé or biography that includes work history with dates

If submitting a hard copy nomination: Submit the completed nomination form and supporting materials (25 page limit, single-sided, 8 ½ by 11 inches). Hard copies must be postmarked by **November 12, 2014**.

If submitting by e-mail, the entire nomination including the nomination form and all supporting materials must be submitted electronically in one e-mail communication to <u>rwheeler@scbar.org</u>. E-mailed submissions must be sent by **November 12, 2014** midnight.

SELECTION PROCESS AND AWARD PRESENTATION

The Award winner will be decided by a joint awards committee of the <u>South Carolina Bar</u> <u>Foundation</u> and the <u>South Carolina Access to Justice Commission</u> after reviewing the nominations.

Decisions regarding the award recipient will be based on the above criteria or comparable achievements and the strength of the supporting letters.

The award will be presented during the Annual Gala of the South Carolina Bar Foundation.

Previous award recipients are not eligible.

PREVIOUS AWARD RECIPIENTS

2000 – Byron A. Reid

1989 – Martha B. Dicus	2001 – Lynn P. Wagner
1990 – Thomas L. Bruce	2002 – Eddie McDonnell
1991 – Johnny Simpson	2003 – Frank Cannon
1992 – Harold F. Daniels	2004 – Willie B. Heyward
1993 – Andrea E. Loney	2005 – Lynn Snowber-Marini
1994 – Mozella Nicholson	2007 - Marcia Powell-Shew
1995 – Thomas A. Trent	2009 – Maureen White
1996 – Susan A. Cross	2010 – Susan J. Firimonte
1997 – Angela M. Myers	2011 – Jack E. Cohoon
1998 – Ethel E. Weinberg	2012 – Kirby Mitchell
1999 – Nancy M. Butler	2013 – Kimberly Shelton

NOMINATION FORM DEADLINE:

November 12, 2014

THE COMPLETED NOMINATION FORM WITH SUPPORTING MATERIALS (25 PAGE LIMIT, 8 ½ BY 11 INCHES, SINGLE-SIDED) MUST BE POSTMARKED BY OR RECEIVED BY EMAIL TO RWHEELER@SCBAR.ORG BY MIDNIGHT NOVEMBER 12, 2014.

Name	e of Nominee:
Nomi	nee's Address:
City:	State: Zip Code:
	e: Fax: Email:
requii	e answer the following questions on separate sheets and attach the sheets and the red supporting materials to the nomination form (incomplete nomination packages will ned for required information):
	1. Describe the accomplishments of the nominee towards development and delivery of legal services to the poor
	2. Describe any litigation that benefited the poor
	3. Explain the nominee's demonstrated long-term commitment to legal services
	4. Attach a current résumé or biography with work history and educational backgrour
	5. Include at least one letter (but no more than five) in support of the nomination
Name	e of Nominator:
	ionship to Nominee (or self-nominating):
Orgar	nization or Firm:
Addre	255:
City:	State:Zip Code:
	e: Fax: Email:
	copy postmarked by November 12, 2014:
	Robin F. Wheeler
	SC Access to Justice Commission
	PO Box 608
	Columbia, SC 29202-0608
Email 3808	by November 12, 2014 to: <u>rwheeler@scbar.org</u> Contact: Robin F. Wheeler (803) 576-