Thanks SCLS!

Earlier this month I was invited to attend the South Carolina Legal Services (SCLS) Annual Conference in Myrtle Beach.  And it’s hard for me to express the feelings I had. Everyone was welcoming to me and I had a great time. Even better, I came away with a better understanding of what SCLS does and the dedication their staff has to their job. In fact, I dare say that many SCLS attorneys and support staff believe that their work is a calling. I was glad to be a part of SCLS for 3 days!

And I’m thankful for the work they do including:

  1. To keep people in their homes;
  2. To make sure people are able to access benefits;
  3. To help people out of unsafe living conditions; and
  4. To let people know that they are not alone in the civil legal system.

Below are some photos from the Conference: (I wish I had more to share, but most shots were under- or over-exposed)

Opening Dinner 11/10/09
George Cauthen, SCATJ Commissioner and SCLS Board Member
Getting to Know Staff Begins

Singing
Singing with guitar accompaniment
Poetry
Flute Solo
The Fashion Show Begins
Models
More Fashion
Like New York Fashion Week
Fierce
Making it work (a la Tim Gunn)
Let the Votes Begin
More Fashion Votes
Door Prize

Agenda
Consumer Law
More Consumer Law Issues
Attentive Students
Continuing Legal Education
The Knowledgeable Panel
Truth in Lending Act
Willard N. Timm, Jr., Assistant Director, Tax Clinic, Georgia State University
Jada Charley introduces Steve Cook to speak re: Assistive Technology

Again, many thanks SCLS!

-RFW

Leave a Reply

