People with Modest Means – Wisconsin Bar offers HELP!

South Carolina is my home, but I also have ties to Wisconsin. My mother and brother were born there. I attended college there and many of my classmates still live there. And a few years ago, my parents moved there. So when I’m perusing the access to justice news, I’m especially pleased to see Wisconsin making inroads in this area.

The title of the piece introducing resources to people with modest means threw me a litte – A Modest Proposal. For Jonathan Swift fans, you understand, right? BUT then I read through the piece and heartily endorse Wisconsin’s initiative in reaching out to help people with modest means through their MODEST MEANS PANEL. Kudos for WI Bar ED George C. Brown for his support of this project.

The Wisconsin Bar offers the benefits to attorneys participating in the program:

The State Bar assists attorneys who serve on the modest means panel. Client representation through the modest means panel qualifies as pro bono legal services within the meaning of SCR 20:6.1, and attorneys are eligible for State Bar pro bono benefits, including first-dollar malpractice insurance through the State Bar for these cases. Participating attorneys are not charged a fee to join the modest means panel, and referrals made through the panel are exempt from LRIS referral fees.

-RFW

Leave a Reply

